Sad news

Today marks yet again another sad day. My grandfather (Opa for me and Uropa for the kids) passed away this morning. His passing was not entirely unexpected but is nevertheless hard. I am at a loss for words to talk about what a great Opa he was. I remember many Sunday morning trips to the museum when I was growing up where he would explain history and historical events to me (and yes…I loved listening to him…). On sunny days we would venture out to the park to feed the ducks before returning home in time for one of Oma’s fantastic lunches.

Opa and Oma traveled extensively (they liked to brag about having seen almost all European capital cities, a true accomplishment considering the time in which they were able to travel) and I might have caught the “traveling bug” from them. Opa also seemed to know everything about world history and geography. When John and I told him we were planning to visit Cambodia a few years ago, he immediately named the 2 cities we were planning on visiting (Phnom Penh and Siem Reap) and opened one of his big history books to show us pictures of Angkor Wat, which was of course our intended destination. I think everyone else we told about our intended travel destination was mystified as to where Cambodia was located…

So, another sad day here in foreign service life where we are far removed from family events taking place in another part of the world… But, we will make sure Luca and Juliana grow up knowing all there is about their great-grandparents including the historical knowledge they instilled in me, which is crucial in this kind of life!

6 thoughts on “Sad news

  1. Nicole, I am so so sorry to hear this! My sympathies are with you and your family. Sending lots of hugs your way. I am glad you are enriched with wonderful memories – he sounds like a wonderful man!

  2. I'm so very sorry to hear about the passing of your grandfather. I know how difficult it can be to lose a loved one while overseas, and my thoughts and prayers are with you and your family. May time bring you peace.A belated congratulations on your beautiful baby girl – so precious. It was great to be able to meet and have dinner with you, John, and Luca while you were in Brasilia. If there's ever anything you need, or you find yourselves coming to Brasilia again anytime soon, please be in touch!

Leave a Reply

