Discipline…

…ah yes….time for a discipline update from the crazy mom who puts her child into time-out in public places…in Brazil of all places! While I was really trying to make this update NOT about any toddlers in our household whose names are withheld to protect the *guilty*, well…you get the point. Unbeknownst to us, there seems to have been a “welcome to the terrific 2s” button that miraculously turned itself on literally the day before a certain someone’s second birthday. So, we are back to time-outs or as my mother likes to call it, “putting the sweet, little, innocent child in a corner all by himself.” Common offenses these days include not following directions and excessive whining….and when I say excessive, I do mean really excessive whining that kind of makes you want to pull your hair out…. In any case, I like to think that we have things under control….wishful thinking perhaps but aren’t moms allowed to dream?

In other news, Luca’s birthday bash was a full success. In true Brazilian style, we celebrated in our building’s party room with lots of friends, toys, and food. The weather played along so that the kids could roam the outside play areas as well and we like to think that everyone had a good time (and if you read this and didn’t have a good time, then we’d appreciate it if you could keep that to yourself!).

Oh and speaking of birthdays, we finally made it through opening the hundreds (fine, perhaps a little bit of an exaggeration) of presents (at like 7am yesterday morning because a certain little someone just needed to get up right away at the ungodly hour of 6am on Mother’s Day to see what was hiding behind all that wrapping paper). We would especially like to thank those of you who thoughtfully gave Luca presents that make, well let’s just say it like it is, freaking loud noise like cars with sirens that can be heard all the way to Rio de Janeiro. We are grateful that you thought of giving him a handy little tracking device that allows us to hear a life sign when he is playing in another room….also, please rest assured that your children will be receiving drum sets, electric bass guitars, and keyboards that only play extremely annoying melodies for the next few birthdays and other gift-giving occasions. Consider it our personal present for you. Yes, you’re welcome!

But, back to the original purpose of this update on discipline….while I am usually the one keeping everyone in line, I have a little secret that may shock you all …. I also seem to need someone to keep me on track. Remember a few weeks ago when I tried to visit the gym more often? Well, I did go a few times (I even need more than one hand to count all those instances too!) but realized something that I have known all along…..I just can’t self-motivate myself for the life of me to run or do anything remotely sweat-inducing (on the contrary, I am quite good at a number of other things like surfing the internet, writing blog updates, and taking care of two young ones unless one or more of them is in a crabby mood, well, because then, it’s every man for himself). So, it turns out, I am in need of a little discipline too which lead me to do the unthinkable…hire a personal trainer.

Yeah, there I said it. I need someone to tell me what to do and how. Mostly I need that person to make sure I show up and don’t find something else to occupy my time. So, now my adventure of personal training starts…will I be able to walk after my first session tomorrow? Will I be able to tolerate someone telling me what to do? Only time will tell … And if that involves losing those pesty little leftover pounds from a certain little baby girl’s pregnancy, well, then this might not be such a big price to pay, right? Well as long as there is no time-out involved for me, it should be rather smooth sailing….

2 thoughts on “Discipline…

  1. I hired a personal trainer in DC for the same reason — I didn't REALLY know what I was doing in the gym, but spending a zillion dollars an hour on having a guy with me definitely made me get my tail to the gym. A good gym buddy who can force you into going is equally effective; it's just a matter of finding one. I wish you luck, regardless!Take care,–Dak.(A fellow foreign service blogger, currently in western Afghanistan — http://theafghanplan.blogspot.com)

Leave a Reply

