I am a big kid now!


…yes, time has flown by so much that a certain little 2-year old was very much in need of a new big boy bed (or rather, his “old” crib was very much needed by a smaller yet louder member of the household). So, this past Friday Luca entered his new adventure of sleeping in his own, real bed. We talked up the event a few days before and got him very excited about getting a new bed, and not just any old bed – no we were talking about a bed with cars. Yes, cars was the operative word here (thankfully we picked up on this trend early enough to order car-themed sheets, comforter, and pillows a few months back when placing our second HHE shipment).

Friday evening, we celebrated with pizza (one of his all-time favorite meals) and then unveiled his new room complete with new bed, car sheets and pillows, and a new car ramp (not pictured; that should qualify us for the parents-of-the-year award, right?). His eyes grew in anticipation and excitement as we waited in front of his bedroom door for the official unveiling (working up drama always a plus!) – once we opened the door, all we could hear coming out of his mouth was “wow” – a few hundred times as he examined his bed, crawled on it, giggled, laughed, pointed out all the cars, found his new toy, played with it, ran back to his bed, played some more, ran from bed to new toy, and back again. A full success – no complaints or crying after his old crib (that we have put out of his sight for the moment – it will move into Juliana’s room once he is completely comfortable with his new sleeping arrangement).

How are the nights, you wonder? Well, we did camp out with him the first few nights until he fell asleep (fine, so perhaps one of us might have fallen asleep with him….) but he is loving going to bed now at night, getting under his car-themed covers, and reading stories. Naps…? Well, a bit of a different story and suffice it to say that we are working on it (I am writing this in the midst of convincing Luca to stay in his bed to sleep and balancing Juliana who decided that 10 minutes of napping might be sufficient – insert picture of me pulling my hair out right here).

In other news – I have been working out with my new trainer and I can honestly say I am loving it! Perhaps it’s the time I have set aside during the week now to focus on me (and not on any other family members – nope, just me!) and I feel much better too. Even if that includes being so sore that I can hardly move, let alone carry two little chick-a-dees. Alright, enough writing for now – time to check on the little ones to make sure they are still asleep in the places that we set out for them! If not, I might be in the market for a wig…

2 thoughts on “I am a big kid now!

  1. Hello! I am working on a book development project. I am writing a children's book about the transition from crib to "big kid bed." I am looking for photographs to use in my book, and I really like the photos you have posted to your blog of your son in his new bed! I am writing to ask if you would be willing to give me rights to use the photograph/s in my book. I will need permission to use it for commercial use. Please let me know if you have questions about the content of the book. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

