Brownies Galore!

When we were locked indoors this past weekend due to arctic temperatures (seriously, it dropped at least down to 15C/~60F) and torrential rain, I invited Luca to venture into the world of baking. He loves food and always watches me cook and expects step by step explanations when I am whipping up dinner so I thought this would be lots of fun – and it was…. and yes, it was messy too (flour everywhere but he was so cute and concentrating so hard when he was measuring flour and sugar). Unfortunately we had too much fun to even think about taking a picture…next time, I promise.

What did we bake? Brownies, of course. We both love chocolate and brownies are a household favorite so much in fact that I make them quite regularly and they have become a favorite snack among friends (and the marines!) as well. This has led to quite a few inquiries for the recipe and I never quite find the time to share…so here it goes. And yes, this is a super easy recipe for yummy brownies that do not come from a baking mix.

To accommodate our international readership, I’ll provide conversions as needed – oh and I should also credit my favorite cooking magazine “Cuisine at Home” for bringing these yummy treats into our life!

Preheat oven to 350F / ~180C

Melt (in microwave or in a big glass bowl over boiling water):

– 4 oz / ~115g unsweetened chocolate (I use Hershey’s or Nestle here, the “meio-amargo” kind)

– 4 oz / ~115 g unsalted butter, cubed

– 2 tablespoons cocoa powder

– 1 tablespoon instant coffee granules (optional, I don’t use it as my kids already get hyper enough from the sugar content of these treats!)

Once melted, stir in:

– 1.5 cups / ~350g sugar

– 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

– 1/4 teaspoon salt

– 3 eggs (one at a time)

Fold in:

– 1 cup / ~110g flour

– chopped walnuts (optional; I personally don’t add nuts, I stick to the chocolate!)

Bake in an 8″ square baking pan (coated with non-stick spray or butter) for 30-40 minutes. Cool completely before diving into them!

Enjoy! And if you need anyone in our household to taste test, we are up for the challenge (including Jules who regularly crawls over next to Luca when he eats a brownie so that she can pick up his crumbs off the floor to shove them into her little mouth….I did mention she reminds me of a cute little puppy at times, right?)

Leave a Reply

