Settled

Moving is hard, we know that. But transitions to new routines and schedules are even harder. We learned that very well this time around. I mean it wasn’t surprising considering we moved two days before Luca started a new school, one that had much longer hours than he was used to and by the time he came home, he was completely exhausted. Add in soccer practice one night a week (I know, at night! At the Kindergarten level!) and a soccer game every Saturday morning. This resulted in Luca being so tired that the whining and melting down did not end. Ever.

For more than two weeks. Every day. It was truly exhausting.

So we tried to make all this transition more fun. We offered lots of downtime at home, many cuddles, lots of patience (oh what a virtue that is!), lots of playtime, and some – what was supposed to be fun – outings to the many attractions in the area. And after a particularly disastrous trip to the National Zoo (nope, it didn’t help that we schlepped everyone there after a soccer game – lesson learned), I thought Luca would never get out of that transition funk.

But then, it clicked. By the start of week 3 of school, he was used to the longer days, the more limited at home play time, and just got over his whining and fatigue.

We started having fun again – and have been ever since. See? There’s evidence right here!

Happiest and cutest soccer player on the field!
Happiest and cutest soccer player on the field!
Ballerina in training
Ballerina in training
Loving the fall festivals at the many farms in the area
Loving the fall festivals at the many farms in the area
I was tempted to house Luca in our new boxes if his whining continued; fortunately for him, it did not :-)
I was tempted to house Luca in our new seats/boxes if his whining continued; fortunately for him, it did not 🙂

And me? I’ve been busier than ever before. It’s weird how that happens when your kids go to school for a good chunk of the time during the day and how you see your days go by quicker than ever before.

What am I spending time on?

Oh those pesky old shopping lists for Mongolia, researching warm clothes, updating our technologies at home, making this “temporary” place a home, figuring out consumable shipments and logistics, getting back into shape (hello gym!), volunteering with AAFSW and Tales from a Small Planet, and figuring out what my working life will be like next year in a country I haven’t been to yet. And if you haven’t seen my professional site, here it is. (Need a research or evaluation consultant? Hire me! I am great, really!).

Aside from all this “work,” I’ve also been having my own fun like having a great dinner with a dear friend from those long ago graduate school days and spending the evening figuring out why we even started this Ph.D. thing to begin with! Or the night I listened to my favorite journalist Nicholas Kristof present his recent book or the dinner party we hosted for John’s classmates.

So yes, it’s been busy on our end. But a good kind of busy. I guess we are more or less settled in. For the next year or so anyway.

Leave a Reply

